Notice: In order to edit this ticket you need to be either: a Product Owner, The owner or the reporter of the ticket, or, in case of a Task not yet assigned, a team_member"

Task #12143 (new)

Opened 6 years ago

Last modified 4 years ago

Bug: users can make other users' data seem to vanish

Reported by: mtbcarroll Owned by: jburel
Priority: major Milestone: Permissions
Component: Insight Version: n.a.
Keywords: n.a. Cc: ux@…
Resources: n.a. Referenced By: n.a.
References: n.a. Remaining Time: n.a.
Sprint: n.a.

Description

On trout, working in read-annotate-1, I,

  1. import an image as user-11 and cut it out of any containers
  2. observe in both clients that as user-11 I can see my image among the orphaned images
  3. in Insight as user-5 put user-11's image into one of my datasets
  4. observe that in either client as user-11 I can no longer see my image anywhere.

Change History (6)

comment:1 Changed 6 years ago by jamoore

  • Component changed from General to Insight
  • Milestone changed from Unscheduled to 5.0.2

Moving to a more specific component and milestone.

comment:2 Changed 5 years ago by jburel

I follow the workflow described.

  • Import an image as user-11 as an orphan
  • log as user-5 and move that image in user-5 orphaned dataset
  • Log in as user-11. Display user-5 data, I can see my image under the dataset user-5 orphaned dataset

Mark, is that the workflow you followed?

comment:3 Changed 5 years ago by mtbcarroll

Ah, yes. My point is that as user-11 I have imported an image, I own it, and one day it is nowhere under my user-11 project browser! Unless I guess that somebody else put it in their dataset and then thus somehow track that user's dataset down, it seems to me as if my data just vanished from my tree: it seems strange to me as user-11 that my project browser tree suddenly doesn't have all my data, due to unknown actions by others into whose tree branch they grafted my data.

Last edited 5 years ago by mtbcarroll (previous) (diff)

comment:4 Changed 5 years ago by jburel

  • Milestone changed from 5.1.2 to 5.1.3

Ok so it is more a workflow that we will have to rethink and how to make it clearer that the image is somewhere in someone's tree.
It could probably still show up as "orphaned" for user-11
Pushing to 5.1.3 since it requires discussions.

comment:5 Changed 4 years ago by jamoore

  • Milestone changed from 5.1.4 to OMERO-5.1.4

Splitting 5.1.4 due to milestone decoupling

comment:6 Changed 4 years ago by jamoore

  • Milestone changed from 5.x to Permissions
Note: See TracTickets for help on using tickets. You may also have a look at Agilo extensions to the ticket.

1.3.13-PRO © 2008-2011 Agilo Software all rights reserved (this page was served in: 0.159797 sec.)

We're Hiring!